Golden Spikes Award won’t be awarded

CARY, N.C. — USA Baseball announced Tuesday it will not name a Golden Spikes Award winner for the 2020 baseball season after athletic programs across the country were shut down early due to the ongoing coronavirus pandemic. The organization will resume the identification and selection process for the award in the 2021 season.

2020 would have marked the 43rd consecutive year USA Baseball has honored the top amateur baseball player in the United States, beginning with the inaugural winner, Bob Horner (Arizona State), in 1978.

“USA Baseball will forgo naming a Golden Spikes Award winner for the 2020 season amid the ongoing effects surrounding the COVID-19 pandemic and its impact on the game of baseball this season,” said USA Baseball Executive Director and CEO Paul Seiler. “We applaud the successes earned by the countless amateur athletes vying for this award prior to the suspension of their seasons.

“However, we feel this decision fortifies our commitment to uphold the longstanding tradition of excellence associated with this prestigious award and aptly honors the accomplishments of the previous forty-two recipients of the Golden Spikes Award.”

Vanderbilt shortstop/outfielder Austin Martin, Texas A&M left-handed pitcher Asa Lacy, Arizona State first baseman Spencer Torkelson, and Louisville lefty Reid Detmers were all in the mix for this year’s award.

Over the past 42 years, Golden Spikes Award winners have gone on to have tremendous success in the major leagues. Three Golden Spikes Award winners have won MLB MVP honors (Kris Bryant, Bryce Harper and Buster Posey), two were awarded a Cy Young (Tim Lincecum and David Price) and five were named the Rookie of the Year (Bryant, Harper, Horner, Jason Jennings and Posey).

Press release courtesy of USA Baseball.

Dan Zielinski III
Dan Zielinski III
Dan Zielinski III is the creator of the Baseball Prospect Journal and has covered the MLB draft since 2015. His draft work originally appeared on, a sports website he started in December 2011. He also covered the Milwaukee Brewers as a member of the credentialed media for four years. Follow him on Twitter @DanZielinski3.

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Latest Articles